About Your AFGE Local 1869

If you are a new member, a member of long standing or just passing through, I want to thank you for visiting our web site.

On 27 July 1962 AFGE Local 1869 was the first in DoD to establish “Formal Recognition”. Mr. Albert L. Roberson was Local President at that time. The Local applied for exclusive representation rights under Executive Order 10988 on 18 March 1963. With more than 50% of the eligible employees signing petitions, exclusive recognition was granted on 12 April 1963.

Our first negotiated Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) was signed on 25 September 1963. The National President at that time was John F. Griner and the Base Commander was Col. Edmund Griffin Jr. – both signed the first MOA.

Local 1869 has a long history of representing the employees of Charleston AFB, a commitment that we take very seriously. Presently the most important issues are the “National Security Personnel System” as proposed by the Administration and the Department of Defense. AFGE has fought this unfair system in Federal Court, and ART civilians wearing Military ABU uniforms as part of their daily work. Both of these issues are being dealt with by locals all across America everyday.

Over the years Local 1869 has had many dedicated Presidents who have led our Local through countless disputes and many negotiated agreements.



1962 – 63 Mr. Albert L. Roberson
1963 – 67 Mr. Adan R. (Danny) Hernandez
1968 Mr. Albert Keynardie
1969 Mr. George Orr
1969 – 1989 Mr. Walter R. Howerton
1989 – 91 Mr. Ron Stewart
1991 – 99 Mr. Richard Egal
1999 – 02 Mrs. Trudy Pendergast
2002 – 03 (2 months) Mr. Ken Battle
2003 – 06 Mr. Delmar Davids
2006 – 09 Mr. Daniel Grausso
2009 – Present Mr. Curtis Fludd


AFGE Local 1869, it’s officers and it’s stewards stand ready to represent the employees of Charleston Air Force Base to the best of our ability. We invite every bargaining unit employee to join our Local and to become active members. We urge our members to step forward and take an active role in their Local.

Leave a Reply